RSS Feed

Buffalo-Blue Cheese Cupcakes (Yes, I said Buffalo)

Image

First off let me say that I am sorry about not being very active lately.  It’s been hectic over here, with meeting with caterers, and finishing school for the quarter and everything else.  So I’m going to entertain your taste buds with a trio of cupcakes that I made this week.  First up: Buffalo-Blue Cheese Cupcakes with Blue Cheese Buttercream Frosting.  

When I first saw these on my fellow cupcake lovers website Cupcake Project I was totally intrigued.  I, myself LOVE me some buffalo wings, and I also LOVE me some blue cheese with it, so when Stef, who is the cupcake maven of that website posted about these for Superbowl Sunday, I was kind of on the fence.  I mean yeah..who doesn’t love quirky fun stuff?  But for this Minnesota girl, this was the first time I had discovered a cupcake that was savory.  So after religiously following Stef’s blog for about 6 months now, I decided to make the darn things.  I had my friend Jess over at the same time I was making them, and of course she made comments all along the way.  Like: “Are they supposed to be that stinky???” I finally decided to ignore her, and continue with my mission.  Once I popped those spicy, cheesy wonders into my oven, after about 15 minutes, my kitchen and living room took on the aroma of a delicious basket of BW3’s finest spicy concoctions.  I took them out of the oven and wow! They sure were orange.  I decided to take a risk and try one hot out of the oven, and I wasn’t impressed.  I made the frosting after letting them cool, and I must say with a big tall glass of milk they aren’t half bad.  Unfortunately, I was the only one who really liked these cakes.  Future Groom 1.0 didn’t even try a bite!  People at my place of employment tried them, but they said: “It just isn’t my cup of tea, sorry Meg.” No offense taken ya’ll.  

So all in all, I would have to say that these are cupcakes that would be better served as an appetizer, or in miniature form.  If you REALLY want to try making them you can find the recipe here

Next post coming soon!

About mistresscorbie

Just your average run-of-the-mill housewife who one day happened upon a cupcake blog and thought to herself: "Hey I can do this too!" So I started experimenting and hey some of them actually turned out pretty good! Unfortunately I don't have alot of pictures to share with you all but soon, I will. I'm also a mother of two wonderful children and I am engaged to a wonderful, WONDERFUL man. We're getting married next year in July, and so far we pretty much have everything mapped out. Now for the fun part! SAVING MONEY! Woo Hoo! (NOT!) So yes, stay tuned for more wacky zany adventures in cupcakes and other yumminess!

2 responses »

  1. Amy was telling me about these. They don’t sound good, but then again, I love blue cheese salad dressing, so I think I’d try one if it were available. Maybe the mini-cup cake pans would be a good idea. I might even try them for BUNCO. We are all supposed to bring a dish to pass. Should I bring wings and celery?? LOL

    Reply
    • It’s totally up to you what you want to do with the topper….As you can see if you visit Stef’s blog, she actually topped the cupcake with an actual buffalo wing! Her advice was to think of the frosting as a sweet blue cheese dip and just dig in! If you like hot sauce and blue cheese, it just might be a winner. Let me know how it turns out!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

