RSS Feed

Memories of my Mother

Image

My mother Dianne was a moving force in my life.  She shaped me, molded me into the person I am today.  Unfortunately as the day for my upcoming wedding draws near, I feel the pang of sorrow that I know will cause some tears for me.  So I have decided to dedicate the next couple of posts to my mom.  And her cooking.  The reason for doing this? My mom passed away six years ago, after fighting a losing battle with diabetes and the complications that come with the terrible disease.  So here’s to you mom! I miss you, love you and hope that you are looking down on me and are happy for me.

My mother wasn’t perfect but in her prime her cooking was probably what started my love of cooking.  Whether it was for everyday or special occasions, mom always knew how to make REALLY GOOD food. The first dish that I have chosen to share with you all is my mom’s Goulash.  But first is a little history on this Hungarian peasant dish.

Goulash is a staple meal served as a soup or stew.  It was basically formed as a one pot meal that would be able to serve a large group of people.  Mainly made by stockmen or cattle herders.  Though upon further research, my family’s recipe seems to be more along the lines of a Minnesota Hotdish. Here is my family’s version!Image

Of course every cook and family has their own version of this famous dish, but like I said, this was my mom’s version.  Please don’t get all irate with me for not making ACTUAL Goulash.  Here is the recipe!

Mom’s Goulash

1lb extra lean ground beef (93/7 or 96/4 is the preferred fat content)

1 Vidalia onion, diced

1 green pepper, diced

3 ribs of celery, diced

1 small can tomato paste

1 can tomato sauce

1 can diced tomatoes

1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup (I use Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom with Roasted Garlic)

Salt and Pepper to taste

1 lb elbow macaroni

1 tsp paprika

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

In a dutch oven, combine ground beef, onion, green pepper, celery and spices.  Cook fully until vegetables are slightly softened but still have a crisp bite.  Meanwhile, boil macaroni according to package directions.  Drain Macaroni and set aside.  Add tomato paste, sauce, and diced tomatoes (for kid friendly goulash, simply pulse diced tomatoes in a food processor till almost pureed!).  Stir until completely combined.  Add can of Mushroom soup also.  Cook on low heat until heated through.  Serve with hot french bread.

Makes enough to freeze for another meal, unless you have a big crew, in that case, chow down!

Check back next week for more memorable dishes!

About mistresscorbie

Just your average run-of-the-mill housewife who one day happened upon a cupcake blog and thought to herself: "Hey I can do this too!" So I started experimenting and hey some of them actually turned out pretty good! Unfortunately I don't have alot of pictures to share with you all but soon, I will. I'm also a mother of two wonderful children and I am engaged to a wonderful, WONDERFUL man. We're getting married next year in July, and so far we pretty much have everything mapped out. Now for the fun part! SAVING MONEY! Woo Hoo! (NOT!) So yes, stay tuned for more wacky zany adventures in cupcakes and other yumminess!

Leave a Reply

