RSS Feed

Cookies into Cupcakes? I think so!

Total Decadence Folks!

So here it is, a couple days gone by and I do apologize for not getting this done sooner.  But being a newly engaged woman (pics of the ring to follow!) and a full time college student as well as being a mother of a RAMBUNCTIOUS four year old, I just didn’t have the time!  Regardless, here is the new post you all have been clamoring for! 

I originally found this recipe on another blog Kirbie Cravings,  I stumbled upon it just by chance I tell you!  But when I saw her post for Cookies and Cream Cupcakes I was in love!  After I shoved (well shooed more or less) my best friend and her son out the door, I immediately threw on my oven mitts, and pulled out the mixing bowls.  However, Kirbie’s recipe uses cake flour and pretty much everything from scratch.  I cheated (YES I CHEATED!) and I used a box mix.  Now you can all just hush, cuz honestly I have made some pretty DAMN good cupcakes using a cake mix as the base.  The trick to baking with a box mix is to IMPROVISE.  Follow the box mix for the most part, but then throw in some awesome add-ins.  Such as your favorite alcoholic beverage, add sour cream as a substitute for the oil (makes for a SUPER moist cake), etc., etc.  Actually the combinations and possibilities are ENDLESS!  So back to the cake.  I took my box mix out of the cupboard, dumped it into a bowl and added the eggs, and I added a box of white chocolate instant pudding and sour cream and yes even buttermilk.  The result was a thick pudding like cake batter that wasn’t runny, it was almost a mousse consistency.  Oh and I also added some pulverized Oreo Cookies as well.  Stir that all together and then voila you got supreme yumminess!

Yep, that’s right, a WHOLE Oreo on the bottom!

Can you see the flecks of yummy Oreo? 

Pop those bad boys into the oven for about 20 minutes at 350 degrees and after you let them cool, you make your frosting.  I chose to make a cream cheese frosting with Oreos.  However, it didn’t have enough of the cookie flavor.  I decided to go one step further and once again I found another recipe to from Kirbie’s Cravings for Oreo Spread!  That’s right.  You can find it here.

But anyways, the end result was a dense, moist cupcake, with a super rich frosting that the FH absolutely said that it was his 2nd fave out of all the cupcakes I’ve made so far!  YEA!

Check back next week for more of my SWEET EATS!

About mistresscorbie

Just your average run-of-the-mill housewife who one day happened upon a cupcake blog and thought to herself: "Hey I can do this too!" So I started experimenting and hey some of them actually turned out pretty good! Unfortunately I don't have alot of pictures to share with you all but soon, I will. I'm also a mother of two wonderful children and I am engaged to a wonderful, WONDERFUL man. We're getting married next year in July, and so far we pretty much have everything mapped out. Now for the fun part! SAVING MONEY! Woo Hoo! (NOT!) So yes, stay tuned for more wacky zany adventures in cupcakes and other yumminess!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

